You sometimes make a mistake in creating an invoice – you have to eliminate it from your books. There are 2 (two) ways to do this:
1. Deleting, or
2. Voiding it.

When you delete an invoice, QuickBooks really deletes all related transactions and reports, removing it from your books without traces. This will muddy your books even deeper when you don’t know exactly what you are deleting.

When you void an invoice, QuickBooks resets the transaction value to 0 (zero) dollar – making it nonexistent to your account and customer balance. It does not erase the invoice number, so you can account for it.

You can find your deleted/voided transactions from Reports > Accountant & Taxes > Voided/Deleted Transactions Summary as shown below:

QB Deleing vs Voiding Invoices 1

 

As you can see, the deleted transaction (Invoice 21) shows no trace whatsoever, while the voided transaction (invoice 22) shows which customer and account are affected and reset the dollar amount to 0 (zero).

Here is how to delete or void an invoice:

1. Find the invoice you want to delete or void from Customer Centre or from Create Invoice, then open the Invoice window. Note that you can also open the Sales Receipts if you want to delete or void a sales receipt.

2. Right click in the Invoice window, choose Delete Invoice or Void Invoice from the shortcut menu.
You can also do this from the Main Menu > Edit > Delete Invoice or Void Invoice.

3. Click Save & Close.

Below is the screenshot of Invoice 22 that was voided as reported above:

 

QB Deleing vs Voiding Invoices 2